Tomorrow Brings Sorrow by Mary Wood

sorrowA beautiful tale of family ties, scandal and love, this story brings to us an array of characters. We read of incest, homosexuality, murder and suicide – a grand line up of issues dealt with great writing and precision.

Tomorrow Brings Sorrow is set at the beginning of World War II. We see fear in men’s eyes as they are drafted to fight and witness the deplorable aftermath. Sally is afraid of Billy but feels obliged to love him and marry him despite having feelings for someone else. A fit of jealousy sparks a chain of reactions which lead to crude and frightful moments in the lives of Megan, Sally, Theresa, Terence and the horrendous Rita. All are touched by Billy in some form or another.

I adore Megan and Hattie for their warm love and clarity and Jack for his vast fatherly nature. Mary Wood has written this story with a lot of patience and paid special attention to all her characters. She has dwelled deep into their hearts and brought out their rich personalities, whether bad or good. Her work shows compassion like no other and we, the reader are instantly drawn into each and every one of their personal conflicts.

Who is my favourite character? For me, Hattie for she is the fall back to these people and perhaps more. There are villains, victims and heroes, a fantastic recipe for a wonderful story!

I urge you to read such a brilliant book! You won’t regret it! Oh another thing I forgot to mention – if you like a little northern accent, you’re in for a treat!

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow Brings Sorrow by Mary Wood

  1. Thank you so much, Malika, for this wonderful review. My sister rang me in tears as she had randomly googled my name and came across this, She told me that my book had been reviewed by Unicorn reviews, and it had made her cry it was so beautiful. I couldn’t wait to access it and have a read. I am not disappointed, this is one of the best reviews I have ever had and I am thrilled with it.
    Bless you and much love, Mary x

Leave a Reply

